Controlling 400+leds.

Im a bit new to the arduino, and will be embarking on a huge project within the next few months, basically what i wanted to know was the following:

(all leds are RGB btw)

1.Best way to control 400+ leds individually, Without having any flickering. (they wont be in one long chain) 2. How to keep the power up to par for them, (Ive been looking around the fourms and have seen some things about how for 100leds you would need a 5v 2a power supply or something, Im wondering if theres a more direct in-line way of doing this, such as a amp does to subwoofers.

any advice/questions/comments are appreciated :D

Search the board for "multiplex" and start reading. You will need an external power supply that can power the LEDs at their rated specifications.

XMOS uses a 16x32 RGB LED panel with Macroblock LED driver chips in their reference design:

https://www.xmos.com/products/development-kits/led-reference-design-kit

http://www.mblock.com.tw/

A couple of things to keep in mind:

"RGB LED" is a bit of a misnomer: it's really an "LED module", i.e., 3 separate diodes in one package. If you're going to have 400 of them, you'll actually be controlling 1200 LEDs.

It matters a great deal whether you plan to do simple "on/off" control, or to change the color to something other than the basic R, G, and B by varying the intensity of the different LEDs in each package. The former can be done with simpler and cheaper circuits than the latter.

Another thing that can make a big difference is the physical layout: some approaches that work well when all the LEDs are clustered close together don't work (well) if you're decorating a Christmas tree or the wall of a house.

Thanks all for the comments, Im trying to avoid multiplexing as to not make this project anymore complicated than it needs to be.

@Ran Talbott Ill be using PWM to control the leds, not just a simple on or off.