Controlling 4V solenoid with MOSFET

Hi!

I am totally new to arduino and electronic hobby in general. I just can remember some basic theories I learnt in school.
I am going to make my second project. I want to control a small solenoid ( http://amzn.to/1Nza5ui ) by using a MOSFET (and an arduino of course).
The link of the solenoid is in Japanese, so I'll provide the basic specs: the solenoid works on DC3-4.5V, 0.17-0.28A.

I got the project idea from this http://www.g7smy.co.uk/?p=595 and Solenoid Circuit – mikeandakshay

My questions are,

1. what is the ideal circuit to make this works? In the first link it only uses a mosfet and a diode. In the second there are several resistors too.

2. since the specs of my solenoid is a bit different from the example, could somebody also tell me the right component specs for this? Which MOSFET, diode, and resistors should I use?

3. If TIP102 or TIP120 is the ideal MOSFET for this, is there any equivalent to that? I could not find it in local shop or amazon. I heard any general purpose logic level MOSFET will work, but I am not sure what to look for in the shop.

Your help is really appreciated!

In the first link it only uses a mosfet and a diode. In the second there are several resistors too.

I only see one schematic... I see a link to the part, which I can't read because I only speak/read English, and and another link to a schematic. The schematic looks good except of course, you'll be using 4V instead of 12V.

You need the diode and both resistors. The purpose for the resistors is explained in the text.

1. since the specs of my solenoid is a bit different from the example, could somebody also tell me the right component specs for this? Which MOSFET, diode, and resistors should I use?

Yes. Probably any logic-level N-Channel MOSFET will work.