Controlling a 12V/3.4A DC Motor with R3-Motor Shield

Hello

I'm a computer scientist and roboticist (rather on the software side) and new to the Arduino World. In my current project I want to slowly (10rpm) rotate a large disc (D=2.5m) and our engineer says we need a torque of about 2Nm. Since I use a Leonardo to interface with two sensors, I thought about using a motor shield to talk to the motor so that I could also run a control loop on the arduino. My current plan is to use a DC motor, although I'm not sure if a step motor would be a better choice, so please tell me what you would use.

To be more specific, I want to control this motor: http://www.conrad.com/ce/en/product/198486/DOGA-DO31627612H003120-12V-DC-Motor-38RPM-2NM with this shield: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoMotorShieldR3

My problem is this: "Max current 2A per channel or 4A max (with external power supply)"

Can I connect both outputs to the DC motor? I found some threads to this topic but only found the answer "Could be possible, depends on shield and motor" so I hope to get a definite answer. Or should I just use a step motor?

Cheers, Nikolas

The spec's for that motor don't make sense - the speed and torque come to 8W, the electrical input is 40W.

Could you maybe explain how you computed this values? (Or give me a link where I such computations are explained?

Can I connect both outputs to the DC motor?

The device allows parallel connection according to the specs: www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Robotics/L298_H_Bridge.pdf See Figure 7.

should I just use a step motor

Stepper motors allow easy speed control. If you need a stable or precise speed the DC motor requires a feed back sensor such as a hall sensor or an encoding disk. If you only need an approximate speed adjusting the pwm duty cycle is sufficient. If the continuous current is near the device limit you may get thermal cycling. The disk will speedup and slow down as the device protects itself from overheating.