Controlling a 12v motorised valve

I'm hoping you can help. I want to use a 12v motorised valve to control the flow of liquid. The valve I have is THIS

!(http://i.ebayimg.com/t/motorized-ball-valve-G1-2-DN15-2-way-12V-electrical-valve-/00/s/NTAwWDUwMA==/$T2eC16RHJIkE9qU3kWtOBQ3U(HJ9Cw~~60_12.JPG)

This valve basically opens and closes by applying 12v for a few seconds. And remains in that state until the voltage is reversed, regardless whether the motor remains energised. I figure that a DPDT relay would be the answer to this. But I am now trying to figure out how to connect this into the arduino. And how to make the relay flip polarity. The power would come from an external source with the signal coming from the arduino. As a complete novice at this has anyone got any advice or can point me to where it has already been done. The plan is to control about 9 valves in all, as part of my homebrew automation project.

If your relay coil needs more then 5V or more then 30 mA you will need a transistor to drive the relay. You can often find boards that include one or more relays and transistor drivers. Like this one with two relays:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Two-DPDT-Signal-Relays-Module-12V-for-MCU-Project-/400262668162?pt=US_Amplifier_Parts_Components&hash=item5d31839f82

That one has relays that can handle 1A at 24V. If your valves don't need more than 1A they should work. Just make sure to get 5V or 12V relays (you don't want to complicate things by adding even more power supplies).

Thanks. The valve itself is only 12v 2w so less than .2 amp. I was planning on using an external power source for the valve, but send the signal to open or close from the arduino. So the 5v from the arduino should power the relay with no problem.

You should connect your relay like this to change the polarity to the valve. A second relay contact in series with the 12VDC supply will allow you to disconnect the supply from the valve when it has reached its final position.

_