Controlling a 3kw immersion heater, variably with temp sensor

Hi,

I'm a beginner to electronics, but i have a good amount of experience in mains power so i'm safe on my execution.

I'm wanting to heat water to a certain temperature in a closed loop (the water is recirculating). My initial plan is to use an immersion heater and pump water through it, in the UK - 240v, 13Amp max, although i am open to suggestions.

I plan to have a temperature sensor on the output side of the immersion heater, and would like to control it to within a few degrees. I could simply use a heavy duty relay and switch it on and off, however i don't think this will provide the level of control needed, the water will either be too hot or too cold too quickly.

I'm not sure if using a triac would be better, and i can rapidly switch the immersion element on and off? I've been using this as a reference:

http://www.rotwang.co.uk/projects/triac.html

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Elliot

Use a solid state relay, very cheap on eBay. If the input is rated 3-32 V DC (or similar) it has a built in resistor and can be connected directly to an Arduino output pin.

Very low frequency PWM can be used to control the temperature.

Thanks for the response - i came to the same conclusion after reading up. I believe i need a zero crossing SSR, with opto coupling? Rated accordingly of course. Would that be adequate?

I think all SSRs have optocoupling. I doubt you need a zero crossing model, but it certainly would not hurt.

You will need a PID 3-term controller configuration for your application and for very little money you can get a system comprising t/c, ssr and 3-term controller all from the likes of e-bay

For example : http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/220V-PID-REX-C100-Temperature-Controller-max-40A-SSR-K-Thermocouple-Sensor-/272012027513?hash=item3f552e2679:g:PZ4AAOSwT6pVoJQ1