Controlling a HDD Motor

Hi there! First of all i am new in electronics however in software i have already some experience...

My question is i have a motor that is from an old HDD, and i would like to know how can i make it interact and connect to the arduino(at328). I was googling and it seems it needs 12v instead of only 5v...

Someone can explain me if there is a way to get 12v from 5v, if not what power supply i can get for 12v?

Besides that, how can i control it with the arduino, it looks it has 4 pins going out from the motor but i dont know which ones are for power or control... i am new at this and sorry for the newbie questions but i would like to learn how i can control a motor like this.

I already did with a servo motor using arduino beginner manuals but with these kind of motors i think its a rather more complicated subject.

If someone help me thank you in advance :)

Is there a brand name or model number on the HDD?

You can power it using a 12V battery or wall wart of sufficient amperage. What's sufficient? Well, that depends on the motor, which we know nothing about, except that it came out of an old hard drive.

What kind of interaction do you expect the Arduino to have with the motor? A tea party, maybe? A long, torrid love affair? Or, do you just want to turn it on and off?

sorry about not giving enough information.

The HDD is a Seagate ST3491A 428Mb. it has some label refering to 5v/12v.

The motor itself is somesort 'glued' into the disk shell, i can't take it out except for all the rest, also i can get access to 4 pins comming out from the motor.

The interaction would be simple, just knowing when he is turning, commanding to stop and moving.

Here is a product manual, don't know if this will help: http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/ata/st3491a.html