Controlling a heater with an Arduino

so… total noob here :wink:

got an arduino as a gift and been messing around with it and have successfully got it tracking temperature in my room.

my fireplace (a gas fire) has an on/off switch that can have an external remote attached (see page 32 / section 7.2 http://napoleonproducts.com/downloads/fireplaces/manuals/W415-1337.pdf) so you can guess what I’m trying to work out how to do…

I’d like to take the existing arduino that’s monitoring the temperature and apply some smoothing to the graph (so it’s not constantly toggling) and have it control the on/off switch …

problem is… I don’t have a clue where to start, so can’t even do sensible searches! I’m guessing I need to use a relay to open/close the circuit in the fireplace?

any guidance, pointers or even better Bing search terms than what I’ve been trying would be gratefully received :slight_smile:

Start with the blink sketch and learn how to programme an arduino.

Controlling anything gas related could have serious safety implications but if your boiler is designed for external inputs it should not be a problem.

Heating systems generally use simple thermostats at mains voltage.
I am not sure what you want to do , can you elaborate.

As Boardburner2 said, Safety first (its not just a catch line)!!!! What you are doing could result in injury, damage to property, loss of property, and possibly death. Make sure everything is PERFECT before letting the system do its thing on its own, and even then, id keep an eye on it. My help does not imply liability in any form, if you blow something up, that's on you. That being said, here I go....