Controlling a low value resistance to ground

Hi! I've been working on a geiger counter project which is all working good but I'd like to be able to digitally control the high voltage output as I have multiple geiger tubes and I don't want to have to change a potentiometer to change the voltage.

The control on the circuit (http://sites.google.com/site/diygeigercounter/) is a 100? potentiometer from the base of a transistor to ground. The issue I have is I cannot work out a way to control a (reasonably high resolution, this range controls ~100-2000V logarithmically) 0-100? resistor from an Arduino. Digipots don't have a range that enables a good resolution in that range.

The solution I'm thinking about is transistors (which I have very little experience with). At the moment I'm trying a 2N4401 on PWM and the lowest resistance I can get out of it is 30? but I'm not sure I'm using it correctly.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

You picked the wrong circuit to do this.
Is the Arduino going to measure the high voltage ? or do you just want to set the potentionmeter ?
I don’t think that circuit can do 2000V.
The transistor is 400V and the diode is 1000V and the capacitors are 1000V.

I would use the Arduino to generate the frequency for the high voltage, but a 555 chip is used. That make it harder to control.

The 100 ohm potentiometer is part of the circuit. If you replace it with a transistor, it might not keep the high voltage at the same voltage.

What are your goals ? What are the voltages you want ?
Do you have to use this circuit ?

My best advice is to use a few relays and a few potentiometers, and let the Arduino select the relay for a certain voltage.

Erdin: You picked the wrong circuit to do this. Is the Arduino going to measure the high voltage ? or do you just want to set the potentionmeter ? I don't think that circuit can do 2000V. The transistor is 400V and the diode is 1000V and the capacitors are 1000V.