Controlling a peristaltic Pump

Hey everybody, I am quite new to the topic of using Arduino so I will try to be as precise as possible. I am questioning the approach to my current Project and wanted to check if it is feasible. I am Investigating Environmental stress cracking of polymers. For this, I need a constant level of medium in which the polymer will be submerged. This is important because of our optical approach to analyze the specimen. If the Medium evaporates past a certain point during the night, the test will be rendered useless. I was planning on using a peristaltic pump such as the one linked below:

https://www.ebay.de/itm/DC-12V-Mini-Dosierpumpe-Schlauchpumpe-Peristaltikpumpe-Wasserpumpe-NEU/174432466119?hash=item289cfc34c7:g:5JEAAOSwJIteqoN2

As continuous pumping over weeks will probably be a little too much for the pump, I was planning on using an Arduino to set a timer to activate for example for 5 ml every hour or so. What kind of equipment should I acquire? Is the normal Arduino Uno sufficient? Is it possible to combine it with Matlab? For example, if Matlab detects a significant decrease in medium level --> activate the pump for 5ml?

I would be grateful for any help and am already pumped for my first little project :D

Simon

I would be much more concerned with the use of a toy pump as a critical component in your experiment. Paul

It's one thing -- and easy -- to periodically activate a pump for a period of time.

It's not quite as straightforward to activate a pump for a specific volume of fluid unless you have accurate flow feedback to the control and/or know the characteristics of the pump and experimental setup so you can map run time to volume pumped.

Keep measuring/checking the water level. When needed add som water using a pump, preasuraised water and a valve.... Adding a constant flow will never give a presize water level.

Those pumps have served me well. Reasonably accurate pumping volume vs. time (maybe 10% variation).