Controlling a relay for a set amount of time per hour.

Hello everyone,

I have been playing with my Arduino Mega for a few weeks right now and am a complete newbie. I have managed to get my sketch running with some of the componenets that I am looking for. I am building a reef controller, to control my saltwater fish tank. I already have a sketch running my LED lights, temperature, and clock. I am having a few issues with my relays and my automatic top off system.

I managed to get a relay working with a float switch, it is very simple float switch drops low and turns on the relay. My problem is I am trying to find a tutorial or some code to limit the amount of times that the relay is activated.

I am going to be using a small water pump to pump water from a container to my tank. I need to figure out a way to only allow the relay to activate for a set number of seconds and only allowed to activate 3 times per hour. This is a big safety issue that I need to have in case the relay sticks or in case the float switch malfunctions. Too much water too fast will be a big problem

Any help you can give or direct me to is greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Dan

Similar topic:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,117540.0/topicseen.html
count down timer.

Thanks Magician,

the link is similar unfortunately, I do not know how to edit it for my needs. Are they any tutorials that I can research to help?

Thanks,

Dan

OdessaDan: Thanks Magician,

the link is similar unfortunately, I do not know how to edit it for my needs. Are they any tutorials that I can research to help?

Thanks,

Dan

Take a look at the Blink Without Delay example. Load it, tweak it, and play with it until you completely understand what each part of it does. It's a fundamental concept that should be completely understood before any type of non-trivial timing operations are attempted.