controlling a relay

Sorry to start a new topic as my first post, but in my defense, I did do some searching.

Has anybody found a easy relay that can be driven by the arduino? All the ones I found at radio shack seem to need greater than 5V to light up. I need both 12VDC and 120VAC relays.

Thanks for your help. I love my arduino, but I am new to electronics.

Hi,

(I think/hope this is correct...)

One way to control a relay from the arduino board is to use a transistor inbetween. As follows...

the input goes to the arduino output pin. When the pin goes high (or low - depending on the type of transistor) the transistor allows current to flow and activate the relay. The plus is 12V. I believe you can use a standard darlington transistor array.

You could also use a optoisolator IC, instead of the transistor.

Regards // Jonathan

the circuit is correct
the transistor can be a bc547 for smallish relays
while the resistor could be a 2.2k

don't use optocouplers here as they're redundant and the relay is a mechanical coupler anyway:)

for big relays (coil current more that say 100mA) you need to use a darlington or an Mosfet like the IRF520. in that case you can get rid
of the resistor!

have fun

massimo

Moderator: Could we post this circuit somewhere permanent? It could be very handy to have around. :smiley:

I'm looking for a tid bit more help regarding this. I am an electronics nub basically, but I've done some research.

I want to throw a 12V DC Avionics battery using the arduino.

If I were to use a relay such as this one:
http://tinyurl.com/64jpjn

Control voltage range: 4 - 6VDC
Max. input current: 20mA
Load voltage: 3 - 52.8VDC
Load current: 0.01 - 2

Would I need to modify the R1,D1, or others in this diagram?

Also, I just wanted to clarify, can the Relay Power V+ on the right in the diagram come from the Arduino?

Edit: I should explain what I'm attempting.