Controlling a Stepper motor with IMU

Hi, so I am fairly new to Arduino and I have a project where I need to write code by taking in inputs from an MPU9250 (IMU) and using that data to control a stepper motor. For right now I am interested in controlling motion in the x-axis.

I have done some digging around for code and anything that could help me but have come up short. My stepper motor has 1.8 step angle so 200 steps per revolution. I am not sure how to convert the data from the MPU 9250 to degrees and make it readable for the stepper motor. I am using an L293D motor driver. I would like to use both the gyroscopic data and the data from the accelerometer to have a more accurate reading so the movements of the stepper motor are more precise.

Thanks in advance.

You have not told us whether you have successfully written short programs to make the stepper motor work and separately to get data from the MPU9250. If not that is an essential first step IMHO.

A L293 is a poor choice for driving a stepper motor.

Have a look at these links

Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

...R

lnfin:
Hi, so I am fairly new to Arduino and I have a project where I need to write code by taking in inputs from an MPU9250 (IMU) and using that data to control a stepper motor. For right now I am interested in controlling motion in the x-axis.

I have done some digging around for code and anything that could help me but have come up short. My stepper motor has 1.8 step angle so 200 steps per revolution. I am not sure how to convert the data from the MPU 9250 to degrees and make it readable for the stepper motor. I am using an L293D motor driver. I would like to use both the gyroscopic data and the data from the accelerometer to have a more accurate reading so the movements of the stepper motor are more precise.

Thanks in advance.