Controlling a water pump through a realay using Mega 2560

Hello,

I have just bought a Arduino Mega 2560 board. As a part of my final year project, i need to control a water pump. Could you please me help me with enough details like description, circuit diagrams and codes. I am totally new to Arduino projects.
Thaks You.

Thanks a llot for your support..and sorry for the incomplete details, my project is about an automatic irrigation system that will sense soil humidity and automatically turn on or off an irrigation pump.

For the purpose of demonstration, i guess i will just be using a toy motor.Later,i will try it on a typical pump that is used for irrigation. So i need help in relay interfacing for both the cases..I cant provide you with any technical details right now as i have not selected the type of motor i am going to use. For now u can assume i will be using a toy motor.

I live in Bangladesh, here most of the things are not available or difficult to get..so i have to check the availability as well. Moreover i am an undergrad final year student of Electrical and Electronic Engineering..so wont be able to afford the actual pumps that are actually used in practice.
I think if i could just demonstrate that with a simple toy motor that would do...

But for the purpose of my project book i will need to know about those irrigation pumps as well.
The irrigation pump will be of the following type:3-4cppage.gif
But, as i said i will demonstrate the project using a toy motor.
Thank You.

There have been several threads last year about moisture measurement and automatic pumps on the forum, biggest "problem" is to get a good moisture reading.

Check - Soil Moisture Sensor - VH400 - or search the forum for vegetronix.com

or - http://www.instructables.com/id/Garduino_Gardening_Arduino/ - also discussed here on the forum somewhere