Controlling an AC current

Hello all.

At the moment I am trying to produce and control an AC voltage. I'm pretty new at electronics, though, and I'm running into trouble.

It seems like generating an AC current should be straightforward enough, but for some reason I can't find DC->AC switching ICs. I can't see any physical reason this oughtn't exist... So that's my first problem. Can I expect to find an IC that will convert DC to AC?

The second thing I want to do is detect the resistance the AC is encountering. I'm interacting with skin so the resistance will change based on several factors. How can I do this?

Finally, I want to change the AC voltage so that the current is strictly controlled. I don't think this will be difficult if I can do the first two, but I'm not sure how it'll work.

If it's important, I expect the AC voltage to be between 5 and 15 volts and around 50 Hertz, and my target current is around 5 mA.

Thank you for your help.

Can I expect to find an IC that will convert DC to AC?

It is called an oscillator, there are lots of them about.

The second thing I want to do is detect the resistance the AC is encountering

You do this by measuring the current that the alternating voltage causes to flow.

I don't think this will be difficult if I can do the first two

As you say you are new to electronics.

and my target current is around 5 mA.

I hope you are not going to put 5mA through a person, that can prove fatal.

You really want to find out something about electricity before you go trying to kill people.

Fibrillation requires at least 70 mA through the heart. 5 mA is about the threshold of sensitivity and if it's kept in the skin won't cause any problems whatsoever. What I'm working on now is testing and it'll be done safely.

I will look into the other items. Thank you.

Fibrillation is around 100 to 150 microamps at the heart.

If you are trying to force 5mA through a body then you need certifying and locking up. You are an idiot.

AWOL: