Controlling an underwater ROV via tether

Hi all,

long story short... I have a ROV I built a few years ago. Its controlled by a cat5 tether and a simple system of relays for forward - off - reverse of each axis of movement. A camera sends video over a pair of wires in the cat5 cable via video baluns. A compass sits in the field of view of the camera for simple heading information.

I want to upgrade my entire setup. im going to switch to 3 brushless thrusters with motor controllers that can be controlled via PWM. I also want to add a magnetic compass sensor and depth sensor.

My problem comes to HOW to control all of this. Im not a programmer but seen many projects using the arduino platform that use motor controllers, servos, compasss ect, and have seen sample codes.

So my question, is how would i control this from the surface?

I assume i need to have an ardunio on board to collect data from sensors, move the servos for the pan/tilt on the camera, and control the motors. What would be the best way to control this at the surface and output the data?

i would only need to see heading and depth on one of those small 24 character LCDs.

Thanks!

Take a look at this site - for one, it has a great solution for the "tether problem":

I would go for an on-board power source augmented by surface power; you may choose batteries on-board for the control electronics and/or servos, and surface power for the thrusters, or a combination of the two.

As far as communication, in theory you could use ethernet for everything (audio, video, data and control). You could also keep things as-is for the video, and perhaps use "proper" RS-232 (at +/- 12V levels) or RS-485 for telemetry and control.

It sounds like an ambitious project, and something I have often thought about trying (got so far as starting to build a thruster; right now I have a few Harbor Freight bilge pumps waiting for a day when I do get roundtoit).

Good luck!

:slight_smile: