Controlling car cooling loops, which board to select?

I am converting my 1967 Volvo Amazon wagon to full electric.
This requires me to control 3 cooling loops. Hope you can help me to decide whether Arduino can do this (possibly with multiple boards) or that a platform that can multitask like Raspberry PI is more suitable.
I think Arduino can do the job, and hope to get some input on the board(s) to be used.
I am based in The Netherlands so it will be from the Genuino family.
My controlling needs are the following:

Temperature control

• I have 3 Pierburg pumps of which the speed can be controlled by PWM (@45 to 70 Hz) and I want to dynamically set the speed based on the temperature in each of the circuits.
  • I want to be able to mix two of the circuits (to use the waste heat of one to heat another)
  • I want to be able to exclude a radiator from a loop if that one is below a certain temperature

Although I am a newbie, based on what I have read that should be possible with one board, right?

Active heating
When it is too cold outside I want to be able to switch on the heater in the cooling loop of the batteries. I want to be able to do that remotely and via a switch/button in the car.
As a nice to have, I want to be able to switch on the 12V heaters remotely as well.
I would say those tasks could be done by another board.

So in short in terms of I/O I need:

• 3x PWM output
  • 2x valve output
  • 1x output to switch on coolant heater
  • 1x output to switch on fan heaters
  • 3x temp input
  • 2x (remote) switch input

I tend to be interested in 2x a Genuino 101 board plus a 3G/GPRS shield with SIM5215, some DS18B20 temp. sensors and two valves

oudevolvo:
This requires me to control 3 cooling loops.

The curiosity is killing me. Why does an electric vehicle need three cooling loops? I can understand one for the cabin.

[quote author=Coding Badly link=msg=3118396 date=1486373143]
Why does an electric vehicle need three cooling loops?[/quote]