Controlling car systems with arduino

Hello everyone,

First of all I am a newbie, so please bear with me. I had some questions regarding arduino, and some general questions.

I plan to make arduino the brains of a really old and simple car and have it control circuits such as lights, a central locking system, side mirror movement and heating, etc etc. I know these circuits usually take a lot of amps to run but I plan to bring down the amps usage as much as I can on the car. (led's for all lights, solid state relays and newer parts, etc).

So, thinking that I should get a board which can handle a lot of circuits, I bought an arduino mega 2560 a few weeks ago and have been toying with it ever since. For now I used this time mostly to see how I can program arduino and managed to create several circuits and systems for it; its really damn fun :smiley:

But I still need clarifications on several items:

1. How many circuits or low voltage circuits using static relays can my arduino handle at the same time? I understand the usual for boards is 40 mA / pin or 200 mA total but considering an LED is 20 mA, does that mean the arduino cannot handle more than 10 LED's or 4 relays (that handle 4 circuits simultaneously)? I read that for the mega, the total amp output is 400 mA (~8 relays) but still, that would not be enough as a car has many more circuits.

2. Would arduino be enough to power all the circuitry in the car using the car battery as power supply or do I need to use relays for all of these circuits, and simply use arduino to switch them?

3. Is it recommended to have the arduino connected to the car battery full time and use sleep mode when the car is not in use, or would that slowly kill the car battery in time?

4. Is it possible to verify that a circuit has been completed? For example, say I provide power to Pin 13, is there a way to verify if that circuit is complete and the LED is on or, if not, let the user know by powering another "warning" LED?