controlling led brightness with car engine rpm tach signal

Hello . I am a newbie at this. I would like to know if it would be possible to control the brightness of LED light strips with the tachometer signal of my car. If it is possible , I would like to know what hardware I would need and some basic instructions. I do have a background in automotive electronics.

Does the tachometer signal vary from 0 to 5V?
If not, can it be made to? If so, then you can read it with an analog port, get a result from 0 to 1023, map that down to 0 to 255 (shift right 2 bits, or divide by 4) and then send to to 255 to a smart LED strip (like one composed of WS2812B).
Or use the 255 to PWM (analogWrite) the gate of an N-channel MOSFET to turn the Gnd On/Off to a dumb LED strip.

I could get a 0-5v signal from the throtle position sensor but the tach signal is a variable frequency signal from a magnetic crank sensor so an analog frequency. I would much prefer using the tach signal

Does the vehicle have a ODBII port?

If it does, then get a ODBII port reader, such as a Freematics. Then it becomes a simple matter to get the engine RPM.

Another source is the firing trigger, tap it, count the number of pulses per second divide by the number of cylinders to get rpm.

No the car does not have an OBD port....It's a 1987 Monte Carlo SS....I know what the tach signal is...I want to know if I can use it with the Arduino to control the led under car lights I want to install.The effect I am looking for is say a 20 % brightness at idle and 100% at 3500rpm and up.Imagine the look as a red glow from the engine bay varied with the engine noise...And thanks for your replies .

Charles

So you have a varying frequency then the time between pulses would be used to determine brightness.
I don't know what you could use for an interface exactly, perhaps an optocoupler.