Controlling LEDs on-off state via Arduino

I got a VMA100 Uno clone, I bought a Velleman 501 kit at that was inside. As you can see on the pic, in this improvised circuit I have a switch that controls the LED. What I'd like to do is to make Arduino control the LED instead, so for example; I turn the switch on and it powers up the LED, and maybe introduce a second switch in the circuit that triggers Arduino control on the LED, making it flash or whatever. What are my first steps here, shopping list items? Mosfet or something? Disclaimer I'm an ultra newbie.

The first step is to obtain a data sheet for the LED. Always get the documentation for all the components first.

When you have the data sheet, post a link to it here so we can see it, too. Then we can make intelligent recommendations for other parts.

You can use a relay, which is an electrically-operated, electrically-isolated switch. If you wire the relay in series with the existing switch you create an "and" condition where the light comes-on when both the switch and relay are on. If you wire them in parallel you get an "or" condition where either one (or both) can turn in on.

The Arduino itself can't put-out enough current to power a relay coil but you can get a "relay board" with a built-in driver circuit.

...To me, that looks like a car headlight LED, but I see an AC power cord. Just make sure the relay contacts are rated to handle the voltage & current. And as always, BE CAREFUL with power line voltages.

Thanks @DVDdoug for clarification! Yeah those are car LEDs but I'm testing this Arduino idea at home first, so just trying to figure out what and how to do basically, it's my starter project.

The LED is a pretty standard Chinese car led, CSP 1860 chip, 25W, 80 CRI, power factor 0.9 6000K unit.

So the first thing on the buy list is the relay board for this Uno.