Controlling linear actuators without position indicator

Hello kind helper!

I’m not that experienced in using a while loop and I think this is the part where my code fails.

I am trying to control two linear actuators with a three pin ultrasonic sensor. The actuators (without position indicator) are connected to a motor controller. What I am trying to accomplish, is when an object comes within a 5 cm range of the sensor, the motors will activate for 100 milliseconds, stop and hold their position until the sensor detects that the object is >= 5 cm’s. When this happens the motors should go back to their original position.

What I am struggling with now is that the motors aren’t returning to their original position after the sensor detects an object that is >= 5 cm’s. I think this problem is caused by the way I update the ultrasonic sensor input in the while loop.

I hope you can help me!

int enA = 5;
int enB = 3;
const int in1 = 8;
const int in2 = 7;
const int in3 = 4;
const int in4 = 2;
const int pingPin = 12;

long previousMillis = 0;    
long interval = 1000; 
long time;
long startTime = 0;

//change ultrasonic sensor signal to distance
long microsecondsToCentimeters(long microseconds) {

return microseconds / 29 / 2;
}  

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(in1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(enA, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(enB, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(in4, OUTPUT); 
}

}
void loop() {
  // Variabele cm
  long duration, cm;
  time = millis();

// Activate
  pinMode(pingPin, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(5);
  digitalWrite(pingPin, LOW);

// Signal read
  pinMode(pingPin, INPUT);
  duration = pulseIn(pingPin, HIGH);

// to cm
  cm = microsecondsToCentimeters(duration);
  Serial.print(cm);
  Serial.print("cm");
  Serial.println();

delay(100);
  //send pulse

if (cm < 5) {
   digitalWrite(in1, HIGH);