controlling low volt stepper motor with a high volt driver

hello folks.
I am new to arduino forum.

I am planning on purchasing nema 17 stepper motor for my final year CNC project:
current : 1.5 A
voltage : 3.0 V
torque : 4.2 kgcm

and decided to use TB6560 for controlling the motor. on seeing the spec i came to know that drivers operating voltage is 10-35 V. Is it possible to run the motor using this stepper driver?

also kindly suggest me a best driver for the same.

I will be very thankful if additional knowledge can be given on this topic!

thank you :slight_smile:

It is unusual to see a stepper motor advertise a voltage value, unless it is a minimum voltage value. Steppers are usually driven by much higher voltages than the 3.0V that you show.

also kindly suggest me a best driver for the same.

Not possible, since you have not defined what the motor will be doing or what criteria to use to rank them.

thanks for replying :slight_smile:

i am fabricating a CNC drilling machine in x, y & z axis. for that i have decided to use 4 NEMA 17 stepper motors coupled with leadscrew. i am not buying the motor and driver from online as i dont have much time as shipping takes some time here in india...so decided to go for a local purchase. unfortunately where i live only 3-3.5 volt with 1-1.5 A motors are available. drivers like tb6560, drv8825 are available but their voltage rating is high. and yeah i will be using arduino uno.

Q1) is it safe to use low stepper motor with a higher volt driver? can you guide me.

Q2) also i want to move about 2 kg along the leadscsrew for 500mm distance. how much torque should i
need for achieving the same ?

Q2) also i want to move about 2 kg along the leadscsrew for 500mm distance. how much torque should i
need for achieving the same ?