Controlling mains with Arduino

G'day gang,

I've got a feeling (and doing some searches kind of makes me agree) that this questions gets asked about once a week. How would I go about making something to turn on and off things that I can plug into the mains with the arduino? The reason I'm starting a new thread is because if there exists something a pre-made (but not as expensive and as fancy as X10) that could do it, it'd be great. I'm a pretty much electronics newb, so I don't want to electrocute myself or anything of that nature. The idea is that I would just like to be able to turn the heater in my room on and off (with say my (hopefully soon to have) iPhone) from around campus. Even something like a little motor doo dad that would physically switch the powerpoint on would be good enough for my purposes (then I wouldn't have to worry about the kind of electricity this heater would chew up)

Thanks,

Scotty

You can get one of those wireless / remote switching thingies. Then from the Arduino board you just control the remote control for the wireless switch. This way you do not have to deal with the mains power.

I am in the process of writing up an article for the playground on how to do this . In the mean time, perhaps this outline will be of some help.

A safe and inexpensive way to switch 110 to 240 volts AC from the Arduino is to use a low cost remote controlled power switch such as this one:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.6026 or http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3072

The Arduino interfaces to a low voltage RF remote control, there is no physical connection between the arduino and the high voltage AC that is being controlled.

The interface just requires two optocouplers and a couple of resistors. I built mine using an old TLP521 that I pulled from an ancient circuit board in my junk box. Most popular optcouplers should work, such as the 4N28 or SFH618.