Controlling more solenoids using arduino

Hi, I am very new to this electronic field. Currently I am working on a project where I have to control 8 to 24 solenoids individually along with some sensors. The sensors will be used as input to control the entire working of the project. I am also planning to creat an pplication to control the solenoids based on some condition. I need help on the following points.

1. Which arduino board should I use. (Arduino Uno will it be ok?)
  2. How to power all 24 solenoids?
  3. What additional circuit I may need?
  4. How do I use sensors through arduino to read the value?
  5. How do I interface aurduino through C#?

Please Please help me out...... I have searched all over the net.......and there lots of information which I could not understand....Sombody please post me the answer.......

1. Which arduino board should I use. (Arduino Uno will it be ok?) For 24 outputs you can use an Arduino Mega or an Arduino UNO with some shift registers for output expansion. Google for Arduino shift register to lean more.

2. How to power all 24 solenoids? A big power supply. A lot depends on the characteristics (voltage and current draw) of your solenoids.

3. What additional circuit I may need? If the solenoids need more than 5V or more then 30 mA (and likely they do) you will need a transistor for each to control the higher voltage and/or current. Google for Arduino transistor to learn more.

4. How do I use sensors through arduino to read the value? Depends on the sensor.

5. How do I interface aurduino through C#? Your PC program typically sends and receives information over the USB-to-Serial connection.

johnwasser:

1. Which arduino board should I use. (Arduino Uno will it be ok?) For 24 outputs you can use an Arduino Mega or an Arduino UNO with some shift registers for output expansion. Google for Arduino shift register to lean more. ...