Controlling motor speed using a hall effect sensor.

Hello folks this is my first post. I have limited knowledge of the C language

Feasibility question:

Is it possible to convert the pulse output of a hall effect flow meter into a pwm signal capable of controlling the speed of a dc motor in a linear fashion?

An Arduino can read the output from a Hall effect sensor and measure the interval between the pulses and it can produce a PWM signal.

...R

Sounds like an XY problem. Why is a PWM signal needed? You're definitely not telling us the whole story. Care to disclose?

Controlling the speed of a DC motor requires another sensor (rotary encoder...), and a (PID) regulator. PWM is fine for controlling the motor.

My plan is to attempt to silence a very noisy shower waste pump.

Few specs:

The shower is below ground level so has to be pumped

The shower fitting has two inlets hot and cold. Flow meters are fitted inline.

The shower fitting is a thermostatic mixer so the amounts of water flowing through the inlets varies as the temperature automatically regulates itself.

Water flow also changes depending on what setting you have it on either high low or something in between.

If water in the waste outlet drops to the point where the pump begins to suck air, it is incredibly noisy.

I want to use an arduino to ‘match’ the outflow of water from the shower tray with the inflow from the shower head so that a head of water is maintained in the shower waste pipe at all times to avoid the horrible sucking noise.

There are systems available which will achieve the above but they are expensive and in any case I though I’d have a go at making something myself.

Anyway back to the original question, I know you can control the speed of a large dc motor using pwm and a transitor.