Controlling Motors and Heaters

Hello All,

I am a undergraduate student of Mechanical Engineering working on my senior project. We need to get a power supply for eight 1500 Watt Cartridge heaters that run on AC, two 24 V DC 100W motors, a 16 W heated wire and an air compressor which will probably not be hooked up to the power supply. This leads me to my first question: How can I power all of this? We are looking at Transformers, but am worried that this may not be enough or very expensive.

The next question involves controlling them, For the Heaters we have been looking at solid state relays so we can control them with the Arduino board and will have thermocouples to monitor their temperatures. The motors we could control the same way with a relay, but if someone has a better idea of what to use for this, I would love to hear it. The heated wire just needs to turn on and off with a switch of some kind. The valve of the compressor needs to be controlled but this is a newer addition and is still being researched. I am not as worried about the programming as I am about the feasibility of this kind of project. Since my knowledge of electrical systems is limited I am more just looking as to what is out there. I have been looking around on the internet and have found the information less than helpful. One thing I am sure about is that the Arduino products are what I want to work with, and the information on in is incredible.

Thanks

I am a undergraduate student of Mechanical Engineering working on my senior project.

I am an ex University Lecturer (U.S. == Professor) in Physics and Electronics, with 45 years of experience in electronic systems and if I was doing this myself I would be most apprehensive.
Considering:-

Since my knowledge of electrical systems is limited

I wonder if your supervisor knows what you are trying to do?

I would not consider attempting to make any of this stuff yourself but to but in modules. Have you any idea how much this is going to cost?