Controlling relay with pushButton

Hi,

I'm a newbie for C++ programing. I have attached a program which gives me an errors and have no idea how to solve it.
I want to activate relay with when pushbutton is on and deactivate when is off (or vice versus). I do appreciate a help.

Thank you

int buttonPin = 5;
int relay = 3;

void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);

pinMode(relay, OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){
boolean buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

Serial.print("The button state = ");
Serial. println(buttonState);

if (buttonState == 0);{digitalWrite(relay, HIGH);}

if (buttonState == 1); {digitalWrite(relay, LOW);
}

if (buttonState == 0);{
 if (buttonState == 1);{

Lose the semicolons

Hint: if a boolean isn't false, there's no need to test it again to see if it is true.

I did remove the semicolons but still getting error. Here is a copied message:

Arduino: 1.6.7 (Windows 7), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

C:\Users\Daumantas\Documents\Arduino\Tutorial01\Button_relay\Button_relay.ino: In function 'void loop()':

Button_relay:20: error: expected '}' at end of input

}

^

exit status 1
expected '}' at end of input

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
enabled in File > Preferences.

The error message is pretty clear; the compiler has reached the end of your code, expecting to find a closing brace "}", but couldn't.

So why not give it a closing brace, and see what it says then?

Thank you so much. There was two closing braces need. One for "void loop" and one for "if". Now it works but when I releasing the button, relay doesn't come back on straight away. It pulsing first and the comes on. Slow response is well. Can I change something to improve it?

Thank you

How is your switch wired?

This Is my hardware:

A drawing or schematic would be easier to read, but I'm going to guess you have a floating input.

Here is a picture. Is there a free software to for drawing to do?