Controlling RF dimmer with universal infrared remote

I have lots of software experience but almost no hardware experience, and I’ve decided to try my first Arduino project. I’ve done some upfront research on my own, but I still need some help

What I’m trying to do:

I currently have a dimmer switch for room lighting that uses an RF remote. I’d like to control it with a universal infrared remote. I’ve attached a very rough picture of my idea in the file diagram.png

What I have already:

Other things I think I need:

• Temperature-controlled soldering iron
  • 4 Diodes

What I have done:

I found an article online that seems to apply to my situation:

I’ve carefully removed the circuit board inside the Pico remote from its case (see attachment pico.png), and I found some contacts under the five buttons. I assume that if I bridge these contacts, it will be like pressing the buttons.

Questions

How do I determine whether a button on the Pico is pulled down to GND or up to +3V? If I need to use the multimeter, what mode should be used, and what readings should I expect to see?

Assuming the button is pulled down to ground when closed (which I’m hoping), how do I safely determine which contacts (outer 4 or single inner) connect to ground, and which ones to an IC pin? Also, what type of diodes should I use? I’ve encountered several terms I don’t understand (“rectifier”, “switching”, “zener”, and “silicon”) and despite reading about them I’m still not sure which ones are appropriate.

diagram.png

pico.png

Interesting project and I hope you succeed!

Use multimeter's voltage mode, 20V is good enough.

If I am guessing it right, those five-exposed-pads are membrance switches, then it seems the center one is by itself.

Find the battery negative terminal, most likely labeled "-" on PCB. This usually is connected to ground plane. If you could not find the label, it seems that big round pad is for button battery, measure the polarity and trace the negative terminal.