Controlling single stepper via blutooth

Hi All, I’m new to the wonderful world of Arduino and C++ so please be gentle with me. I have been searching the internet for days and can’t find the answer to my question.

I am wanting to control just the speed of a stepper motor via Bluetooth. I have vast experience with steppers and drivers and have it all connected up properly. Using a simple code (accellstepper lib)) I can control the speed with a 10k Pot no problem.

I have used a few bits of code that I have found online and can get the stepper to start and stop via my HC-06 Bluetooth module by issuing commands from an android terminal app.

But I am struggling to get any of the code to work using a slider built in MIT,

here is the first code that i can use with blutooth terminal on Android

#include <AccelStepper.h> // Library created by Mike McCauley at http://www.airspayce.com/mikem/arduino/AccelStepper/
// AccelStepper Setup
AccelStepper stepper(1, 8, 9);  // 1 = Easy Driver interface, Pin 4 connected to STEP pin of Easy Driver, Pin 5 connected to DIR pin of Easy Driver

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial portOne(0, 1); // software serial #1: TX = digital pin 10, RX = digital pin 11

// Define our three input button pins
#define  button1 3
#define  button2 2

int spd = 3000;    // The current speed in steps/second
int sign = 0;      // Either 1, 0 or -1

void setup()
{ 
  Serial.begin(9600);
  stepper.setMaxSpeed(3000);
  stepper.setSpeed(1000);

// Set up the three button inputs, with pullups
  pinMode(button1, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(button2, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop()
{ 
  char c;
  if(Serial.available()) {
    c = Serial.read();
    if (c == 'f') {  // forward
      sign = 1;
    }
    if (c == 'r') {  // reverse
      sign = -1;
    }
    if (c == 's') {  // stop
      sign = 0;
    }
    if (c == '1') {  // super slow
      spd = 10;
    }
    if (c == '2') {  // slow
      spd = 100;
    }
    if (c == '3') {  // medium
      spd = 300;
    }