Controlling Solenoid Valve

Hello All,

I am very new to Arduino. I am from Mechanical background. I don't know much about Electronics.

I would like to control a solenoid valve. Solenoid has to SWITCH ON with a ON Press Button. After some time period it has to get SWITCHED OFF. Also I would like to have two more button for increasing and decreasing time period of Valve opening.

Can anyone please help me to write program for it. I know for simply switch ON and OFF. But please guide me for Varying time period

With Regards
Vinayak S Matur

(deleted)

You could Google 'Arduino Programmable Timer'. I did. - Scotty

you didn't quite specify how long you want it to wait for, anything more than a minute should use timer interrupts or a real time clock (rtc) module, which is a lot more complicated. If its less than a minute its relatively simple with delays and variables.

I was feeling nice today, and pretty bored, so I wrote this for you. You may have to debug since I haven't tested it but it shouldn't have too many mistakes.

you can use a relay to turn off and on the valve, which i what i used in this sketch, just copy and paste and feel free to change the wait times, how much it increases and decreases, pins, or anything else you want.
good luck! :slight_smile:

int relaypin = 1;
int RightButtonPin = 2;
int LeftButtonPin = 3;
boolean relay = LOW;
boolean rightButton = LOW;
boolean leftButton = LOW;
boolean bothButtonsLast = LOW;

boolean on = LOW;

int wait = 5000;
boolean rightButtonlast = LOW;
boolean leftButtonlast = LOW;

void setup() {
pinMode(relaypin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(RightButtonPin, INPUT);
digitalWrite(RightButtonPin, LOW);
pinMode(LeftButtonPin, INPUT);
digitalWrite(LeftButtonPin, LOW);
digitalWrite(relay, LOW);

}

void loop() {
rightButton = digitalRead(RightButtonPin);
relay = digitalRead(relaypin);
if ((rightButtonlast == LOW) && (rightButton == HIGH))
{
  wait = wait + 1000; //adds a second to the wait time if the right button is pressed