Controlling Speed and Direction of a Motor

Hello there. I am a beginner with Arduino and circuitry in general and have a question regarding the project I am doing. The goal of my project is to control a 12V, 21A DC motor using the Arduino Uno with LCD Keypad Shield and a DC Motor Driver. I am also using a 12V computer power supply to power both the motor and driver. I’ve followed the instructions on the Manufacturer’s website for the driver, and pieced together some of the code that they have provided, but have come across several issues.

Assuming that all of my connections are correct, the first issue is that the driver trips whenever I attempt to change the direction of the motor using the LCD and have to restart my power supply to power the driver again. The second issue is that raising or lowering the PWM values on the LCD does nothing to the motor, even at peak value. The last issue is that the LCD keypad layout is all wrong. Pressing the up and right buttons changes direction and the left and bottom buttons changes the PWM values.

Here is the code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <LCDKeypad.h>

#define None 0
#define Select 1
#define Left 2
#define Up 3
#define Down 4
#define Right 5

LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);
LCDKeypad lcdKeypad;

#define diy_pwm A2
#define pwm 3
#define dir 2
#define pot A1

void setup(){
  lcd.begin(16,2);
  lcd.clear();

pinMode(pwm,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dir,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(diy_pwm,OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pot,INPUT);

}

void loop(){
  int localKey;
  int pwm_value;

while (1){
  localKey=lcdKeypad.button();

if(localKey==Left){
    digitalWrite(dir, !digitalRead(dir));
    delay(200);
  }

if(localKey==Up){
    pwm_value++;
    delay(200);
    lcd.clear();
  }

else if (localKey==Down){
    pwm_value--;
    delay(200);
    lcd.clear();
  }

if(pwm_value>255)
  pwm_value=255;
  else if (pwm_value<0)
  pwm_value= 0;

analogWrite(pwm, pwm_value);

lcd.setCursor(0,0);
  lcd.print("PWM:");
  lcd.print(pwm_value);