Controlling Torches (Flashlights) through Keyboard input

Hi there.

I'm seeking a little guidance for a project I'm working on. My first, in fact. Please forgive any ignorance I might stumble into here, as I'm an absolute beginner to arduino, and actually... programming and electronics in general! I've been doing my best to teach myself through online resources, but think I little guidance here would be a huge help right now.

I'm working in theatre and have a week of research and development coming up for a project. One of the things we are looking into is using handheld, LED battery powered torches, and finding ways to effectively 'cue' them just as you would would normal theatrical lighting.

Ultimately I'd like to be able to press a button on a keyboard (e.g. Spacebar) in order to tell the arduino to trigger a specific piece of code. (Basically, IF spacebar is pressed then TURN ON the torch wired up to digitalpin 7 etc)

I've muddled through and taught myself enough to wire up the torches via a relay and got specific torches turning on and off through the arduino, blinking etc, so I'm ok with the basics there.

It's the keyboard input that's stumping me right now. I'm reading up on the 'keyPressed' and 'keyReleased' function - am I on the right track? And also am I right in thinking I'd need a Leonardo board? (I'm working with an Uno at the moment).

IF that is feasible then the next step would be to find out if it's possible to trigger different code depending on how many times the same button is pressed (e.g Spacebar is pressed the first time = lights turn on. Spacebar pressed a 2nd time = lights turn off. 3rd time, different lights turn on, etc)

I hope that makes sense! Thank you for your time to anyone who reads through my confused scrawling :o

So those torches are wired? Then it's no difference to a regular LED or so on the output pins. You may want more brightness, but that's all really straightforward that way.