Convert String to int

Hello, I am very new to Arduino programming, so I would like to know how to convert a received String from my Serial port to an int value.

For example, I receive two chars and buffer them in a char array.

char Str[2] = {softSerial.read(), softSerial.read()};

so if str[2]={‘1’,‘2’};

Then I need to have a value which is

int value= 12;

How can I do it using Arduino programming language?

This should work.

char myStr[3] = {'1','2',0};
int myInt = atoi(myStr);

I receive two chars and buffer them in a char array.

Make sure that there are two things in the buffer to receive before you do this:-

if(Serial.available() >2) {  
Str[0] = softSerial.read(); 
Str[1] = softSerial.read();
}

SurferTim: This should work.

char myStr[3] = {'1','2',0};
int myInt = atoi(myStr);

Thanks a lot for your Help :)!

Grumpy_Mike:

I receive two chars and buffer them in a char array.

Make sure that there are two things in the buffer to receive before you do this:-

if(Serial.available() >2) {  
Str[0] = softSerial.read(); 
Str[1] = softSerial.read();
}

Yes I do :), I already receive a Char before each 2 chars, so I'm sure that the buffer has minimum of 2 chars.

Thanks a lot :)

But, if my char array is

char Str3[2] = {'0','1','2'};

And i need to have the casted numeric value = 012;

How can i do it? I know I am thinking in a java way :D , but it's only because I am a java developer :(

And i need to have the casted numeric value = 012;

Octal conversion is tricky.

What is it you're trying to do?