Converter videos from VHS to digital (hd mp4)

Hi guys,

I am about to start a project for converting videos from VHS to a digital format.
I am new with Arduino, but I have some background in programming and electronics, only
the elementary.. and some about mathematics.

Does anyone have a comment about the project I am thinking of?
Which are the electronic components that I would need?
It is possible to do that with arduino. Is there any othe microcontroller that I can use?
Is there a tutorial out there for doing that kind of project?

I need some directions for starting. Thank all of you!

Mustafa Ali.

Does anyone have a comment about the project I am thinking of?

What rôle do you envisage for the Arduino?
IR controller for the tape deck?

OK, so we are all going to have a good chuckle about this one.

You go down to your local store and buy one of these devices. Note that I only give you that link as the first thing that came up in my search, not advertising it in particular - you will find a myriad of them in the shops and online.

I have a couple here (unused) as well as the TV card in our media computer that we actually use to watch "TV"; my wife often asks about digitising our VHS collection - I ask who is going to sit and actually do it - putting the tapes in the VHS machine and carefully starting (and the time-consuming bit - stopping) the record functions and all, editing off the copyright garbage and so on.

So note the warnings - you need a "grunty" PC to do this, at least dual core and 3 GHz, I presume quad core would be more like it.

I echo AWOL - what part in the process did you imagine an Arduino would play? His suggestion is pretty much spot-on - I suppose you could use it as an interface to send out IR commands via USB to start the VCR, but I cannot see that there would be any benefit in that because you need to visually determine (and have a few tries to find) the point to start the recording on any given tape.