Converting 4 phase stepper signal to STEP/DIR standard

Hi everybody!

I'm quite new to Arduino and I would like to ask you for help.
I have an advanced controller for stepper motor that originally sends out 4 phase power signal (A-A' and B-B' coils) directly to motor.
But for a few reasons I want to change the stepper motor into a different one which has built in controller that requires STEP/DIR signal.
I couldn't find any ready converters like that so I decided to make my own with Arduino nano. It is very simple from the electronics side, but I have no idea how to write the sketch :slight_smile:
So could anyone help me with developing the idea method of software interpreting signals from four inputs so that on two outputs I get STEP and DIR signal?
I suppose it is very easy but for the newbie like me it seems like black magic :slight_smile:
I would be grateful for any tips.

Thanks in advance
Chris

I don't understand why you want to get away from a specialized stepper driver that takes step and direction signals. They are much more suitable for controlling stepper motors than any other DIY alternative.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

Hi Robin and thanks for fast response.

To make a long story short: this device I have is just a 4 phase switch without any current driver, chopper or anything. It was designed for little, low power motors (12 V, 0,5 A max.) and I need to drive something more powerful. But I need to remain all the features of the original controller (it’s USB controlled with ASCOM compatibility and many usefull options I couldn’t find in any other gear). So the only reasonable way for me is to make a converter, which shouldn’t be complicated if I only know how to write the sketch :slight_smile:
I’m even willing to pay for the code if anyone would be kind enough to spend some time and write it for me.

C.