Converting potentiometer value to time

Hello all. I am very new to this and while I really have tried poking around this site, Google, and YouTube, as a beginner the information is coming at me like a fire hose and it is a little overwhelming.

I want to make a relay timer that uses potentiometers to control the time the relay is energized from 0-10 seconds then a second for the delay in minutes from about 5-15 before the relay is energized again.

Seems simple enough.

I have watched several videos about potentiometers but usually the basic videos are either just watching a stream of numbers from 0-1023 scroll down a computer screen or dimming an led.

This is not a request for anyone to write code for me, but if anyone could offer suggestions for programming commands that I should be looking up and familiarizing myself with that would be helpful. I also understand that non-arduino pre-made timed relays are available for like $8 on amazon but I would really like to use this project as a way to learn some programming not to mention dials are easier to manipulate than the push button interface many pre-made versions use.

Any suggestions on commands that you would use if you were making this? I don't need a full map but a compass direction or just a pointer in the right direction would be much appreciated.

I have watched several videos about potentiometers but usually the basic videos are either just watching a stream of numbers from 0-1023 scroll down a computer screen or dimming an led.

You can convert from 0-1023 to 0-10,000 milliseconds with the [u]map()[/u] function. (I assume your LED dimming example used map().)

Any suggestions on commands that you would use if you were making this?

I'll just try to get you started with this: The two most important concepts in programming are conditional execution (if statements, etc.) and loops (doing something over-and-over, usually until some condition is reached).