Converting string or int to const char

Hi, I am very new at programming,
I am trying to read the analog input of a pot (0-255) and send it over an rf transmitter with virtualwire to another arduino receiver.
However I dont know how to convert the integer value i am getting from the analogRead input to the const char required.
I have converted the integer to a string, however I am thinking that probably isnt necessary and that you can probably convert the int directly to a char.
I have heard i need to use atoi or something to convert but I dont know how to do that.

here is my code:

#include <VirtualWire.h>

const int led_pin = 11;
const int transmit_pin = 8;
const int receive_pin = 2;
const int transmit_en_pin = 3;

void setup()
{
  // Initialise the IO and ISR
  vw_set_tx_pin(transmit_pin);
  vw_set_rx_pin(receive_pin);
  vw_set_ptt_pin(transmit_en_pin);
  vw_set_ptt_inverted(true); // Required for DR3100
  vw_setup(2000);	 // Bits per sec
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

byte count = 1;

void loop()
{
  analogRead(A0);
  int i = map(i,0,660,0, 255); //gets values from 0-255 from pot

String f = String(i); //converts int to string
  char *c = ("i"); //<---------here is my error 

Serial.println(i); //shows the value of the pot on computer

analogWrite(led_pin, 255); // Flash a light to show transmitting
  vw_send((uint8_t *)c, 5); //send data
  vw_wait_tx(); // Wait until the whole message is gone
  digitalWrite(led_pin, LOW); 
  delay(500);

}

thanks for any help! please remember I am very very new to code when you respond!

You are mapping your reading onto a range from 0 to 255, so I assume that you want to store your value into a char, or byte, that can hold values between 0 and 255 (not a char with values between '0' and '9'). If so, you may just assign your variable of type int to a new variable of type byte. A safer way is to strip off any extra bits using bitwise AND.

byte b;
// your code
b = i & 0xff;

Ditch the String class and use itoa().