Copy int array to byte

Hi everyone.

I am a beginner and i am a bit stuck right now.

I am receiving via serial monitor data like 1234567812345678 several times. I save them everytime in a int variable: addr[100][16]. To be able to receive data 100 times maximum.
Once i save the data in the ‘addr’ variable, I would like to copy it into a byte variable: byte idx.

int addr[100][16]; //save receiving data. 1234567812345678 e.g.
byte idx;

for (int i = 0; i < 15; i++) { //store the incoming data from an external device
             addr[counter][i]=response.getValue()[i];
             Serial.print(addr[counter][i]);
           }

for (int i=0; i<counter;i++){
   idx=addr[i];
}

As you see, I only want to store the incoming data and be able to copy the 16 ‘addr’ numbers into the ‘idx’ byte.

I don´t really know how to do it after searching on internet. I may be programming in the wrong way.
I would aprpeciate any suggestion.
Thank you.

I save them everytime in a int variable:

Why an int variable ?

I only want to store the incoming data and be able to copy the 16 'addr' numbers into the 'idx' byte

How are 16 numbers of any kind going to fit in a byte ?

AntonioGR:
I am receiving via serial monitor data like 1234567812345678 several times. I save them everytime in a int variable: addr[100][16]. To be able to receive data 100 times maximum.

It is not clear at all to me what you want to do. Is the data from the serial monitor ASCII data (you are typing it in)? If so, are you wanting to convert it to an integer or integers? What are you going to do with the data?

This array alone will consume 3200 bytes. int addr[100][16];. If you are using an UNO you will exceed the amount of RAM available.

If you want some help it might be beneficial for us to know what you are trying to accomplish.

UKHeliBob:
Why an int variable ?
How are 16 numbers of any kind going to fit in a byte ?