Correct default Linux directories

Thank you for reading this.

I've been using Arduino on and off since 2009 and have always installed the IDE from the repositories of whatever Linux distribution that I was using at the time. More recently I've noticed that the binaries are for an older Arduino version that, among other things, does not allow the scrolling of long lists of sketches or examples. Installing from Arduino's home page fixes that problem and adds some extra new features.

What is the correct location for the sketch and libraries directories?

Currently I have two arduino directories:

/home/phil/arduino-1.8.4/libraries

and:

/home/phil/arduino/sketchbook/libraries

Originally I had /home/phil/sketchbook/libraries, which I think is the correct default location but I could be wrong.

The "arduino" directory came about while installing support for the ESP-32 board and the "arduino-1.8.4" directory was created by installing the downloaded version of arduino-1.8.4 (I know there's a newer version).

Thank you for your advice.

The correct location for the user's libraries is the libraries subfolder of the sketchbook folder. The sketchbook folder location is set in the Arduino IDE at File > Preferences > Sketchbook location.

The Arduino IDE installation also contains a libraries folder, which is for the bundled libraries. There is also a hardware specific libraries folder in each hardware package. You should never put any of your own files in either of those libraries folders because they would be lost when you updated to a new version.

Thank you pert.

So, my original location /home/phil/sketchbook/libraries is correct as I though.

I had become confused, and not just because of old age, after reading a post on another forum to do with adding support for ESP boards.