Cottage lighting system. Would appreciate general guidance/problem solving.

Hey everyone, another noob here, diving too deep into something I don’t know enough about. But I gotta learn somehow. :slight_smile: Thanks everyone in advance for taking the time to read this.

So the general outline of the project: I am installing lights in an off-grid cottage. Power source is 12v, Lights are 12v Led strip lights, some 9 volt led pot lights, and some 12v outdoor lights.

All light feed wires are run back to the utility room to minimize line loss. A cat5 runs from each of the wall switch boxes to the utility room. There are 11 circuits so far.

My Ideal vision for the finished project is this: Each light switch will have a switch(for turning the light on) and a pot(for dimming) in it. When the switch is turned on the light will fade from off to on, to the current position of the pot.

My current control board(yes, its actually a wooden board) has an Arduino mega, and 12 irlb8721’s on it. Pic attached. (Go ahead and laugh, I did).

Any advice or criticism is greatly welcome and appreciated. And on to the problems so far…

1. The code. Not quite sure how to write code that monitors all the pot’s at the same time and can fade multiple lights on at the same time. Not even sure if it is possible with one arduino? I read through the sticky at the top of this forum(the one about doing multiple things at once), and am trying to understand it. Any help or links to help would be great.

There is a few other current problems but I gotta hit the hay now. I hope my post is fairly readable, because I suck at grammar. Thanks again

Hi,
Layout looks logical, but have you got 10K resistor across each gate-source, to make sure that the MOSFET does not turn on if gate signal is not present.
I'd be putting sleeving over all three leads of the MOSFETs too.