Could this flux resedue cause a faulty connection?

I am having very uncontrollable problems with a stepper driver. I soldered on the headers myself, but I am not very good at this.

The stepper driver behaves erratic and touching the board sometimes causes a reaction. Thats why I belive this is a soldering problem. I removed the plastic from the pins and found some resedue looking like flux. (top right pins) Could this be the cause? Is it reccomended to clean solder points?

If you have used rosin core electrical solder, then it's not a problem.

Sounds like a "bad decoupling" problem.
I had a look at your other posts, and I did not see any supply decoupling near the module on your breadboard.
Leo..

What Wawa says +

While the flux residue will not cause a bad connection the solders joints do not look good. Why is there so much flux? It looks to me like the wrong flux has been used and the joints have not been hot enough.

Joins should look smooth and bright, yours look dull and rough.

If that board has plated through holes it is only necessary to solder one side of the board and I suggest the other side. Solder will wick through when the temperature is right giving you minimum solder on the side that is going to get plugged in to something.

The solder job doesn't look great, no; somethings systematically wrong with his technique - but none of them look bad to me.

I'd wager he's using lead-free solder, which doesn't make it any easier. Go snag some of the good stuff (60-40 leaded), and you'll understand why they used leaded solder in the first place :wink: