Could you help me with this code? My motors don't seem to move at all.

//AUTOMATIC BOARD ERASER
// As the title suggests, I am working on a project for a board eraser
// It consists of an RC Car moving back and forth atop a rack placed on top of the board
// It is triggered by two push button switches (Pull up resistors) places on front and back
// This is my humble attempt at the code. I am a novice programmer, kindly ignore the indentation faults

#include <AFMotor.h>

AF_DCMotor motor1(1); //DC Motors on AdaFruit board
AF_DCMotor motor2(4);

char on_off = ‘0’; //initialising the char for on and off switch
int buttonPin1 = 15; //My pin buttons as adafruit analog pins aren’t used,
int buttonPin2 = 16; //I used them as my digital pins for signals from pushbutton switches 15 and 16
boolean SwitchDeBounce1_1 = LOW,SwitchDeBounce2_1 = LOW, SwitchDeBounce3_1 = LOW; //Debouncing for Pin1
boolean SwitchDeBounce1_2 = LOW,SwitchDeBounce2_2 = LOW, SwitchDeBounce3_2 = LOW; //Debouncing for Pin2
boolean newSwitchState1 = LOW,oldSwitchState1 = LOW ; //switch states to detect a if a button is pressed
boolean newSwitchState2 = LOW, oldSwitchState2 = LOW;
int buttonTrigger = 0; //To keep track of which command to execute on a button press

void motorOff()
{
motor1.run(RELEASE);
motor2.run(RELEASE);
newSwitchState1 = LOW,newSwitchState2 = LOW ; //re-initialisation of variables
oldSwitchState1 = LOW, oldSwitchState2 = LOW;
}

void backward()
{
motor1.run(BACKWARD);
motor2.run(BACKWARD);
}

void forward()
{
motor1.run(FORWARD);
motor2.run(FORWARD);
}

void pause()
{
motor1.run(RELEASE);
motor2.run(RELEASE);
}

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(buttonPin1,INPUT); //button Pin1 (front) set to input
pinMode(buttonPin2,INPUT); //button Pin2 (back) set to input
motor1.setSpeed(255);
motor2.setSpeed(255);
motorOff();
}

void loop()
{
if(Serial.available() > 0)
{
on_off = Serial.read(); //Read the incoming bluetooth data and set the on/off state
if(on_off == ‘1’)
{
motorOn();
}