counter++ question

Hi all,

I am using this sketch of the forum to vary the flash interval of an LED. I added it twice in the sketch for two two different intervals depending on a switch input. The switch is for testing. I am actually going to EEPROM read, and if the value is zero it will do the short flash and anything else I want to flash that number of times, then pause and keep doing that until the main switch in the loop becomes active.

I tried to add a counter and implement a different offTime in another if statement at the end but it didn’t work. I don’t think I’m far off, but we’ll see.lol Also, I’m a rookie, so if I have more code then I need, feel free to let me know.
Thanks, Randy

const int led=  8;      // the number of the LED pin
const int button = 9;

// Variables will change:
int counter = 0;
int ledState = LOW;             // ledState used to set the LED

unsigned long previousMillis = 0;        // will store last time LED was updated

const unsigned long onTime1 = 150UL;
const unsigned long offTime1 = 1500UL;
const unsigned long onTime2 = 250UL;
const unsigned long offTime2 = 250UL;
const unsigned long offTime3 = 1000UL;

long interval = 1000;           // interval at which to blink (milliseconds)

void setup() {
  // set the digital pin as output:
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(button, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop() {
  // here is where you'd put code that needs to be running all the time.

if (digitalRead(button) == HIGH) {
    // blink the LED.
    unsigned long currentMillis = millis();

if (currentMillis - previousMillis > interval) {
      // save the last time you blinked the LED
      previousMillis = currentMillis;

// if the LED is off turn it on and vice-versa:
      if (ledState == LOW) {
        interval = onTime1;
        ledState = HIGH;
      }

else {

interval = offTime1;
        ledState = LOW;
      }
      // set the LED with the ledState of the variable:
      digitalWrite(led, ledState);
    }
  }