Couple of hardware interface questions

I am new to Arduino and am working on a small project intended to read commands sent from a LANC video camera controller and to appropriately trigger an external digital video recorder when I press the REC/STOP button on the LANC controller. I have two hardware-related questions:

1. The external recorder docs say that the external trigger needs to "connect pin x to pin y" (pin y is ground) of the external trigger connector in order to trigger the recorder. This suggests to me a relay, but I would rather avoid the extra component. I am guessing that the trigger sense circuit inside the recorder really just needs to see pin x pulled to or near ground, but I don't have enough experience with electronics to be sure. I am tempted to just try using a digital pin of the Arduino to pull down the appropriate line of the recorder to see what happens. Am I missing something that makes this experiment a bad idea? The recorder is rather expensive, but I am less worried about the Arduino. If it is important, I am using a Uno for prototyping and will build the final device using a Nano.

2. The LANC specs call for the master device (a video camera, in my case) to provide +5V on one of the three lines. I can't find any information on how much current this line can source, but I know that it can power LANC controllers. I intend to detect whether this is present as one of my status checks that will condition whether a "ready" LED is lit. My plan is to simply connect the 5V signal to a digital pin and read that pin to determine whether the 5V is present. Would it be good practice to place a current-limiting resistor or some other protective device on that pin?

Thanks for your help. And thanks also to the many others who have posted LANC-related information and Arduino-based LANC projects. Getting my code running was insanely easy for a complete noob as a result of all of those efforts.