Crazy RPM readings

Hello everybody, First of all I want to say that I am a newbie at arduino. I am working on a school project. The idea is simple: - 1 intel pc cooler 4 wires(PWM on pin 9), TACH to pin 2 (intrreupt 0) - 1 potentiometer (Signal on pin A0) - 1 arduino duemilanove

What i want to do is use the potentiometer to set the speed of the pc fan, used it as the setPoint to feed it to a PID, get the rpm of fan(code copied from rpm post :D ), feed the rpm to the pid, and calculate the output. So far with out the analogWrite function i get normal readings of the rpm: 1660 1650 rpm, when ai insert in the loop analogWrite(9,128), the rpm readings send mutate to HULK-like values 56000-7800 rpm: Here is ze code:

#include "TimerOne.h"

volatile byte rpmcount;

unsigned int rpm;
 int value,pwm;
 unsigned long timeold;

void rpm_fun()
 {
   rpmcount++;
   //Each rotation, this interrupt function is run twice
 }
 void setup()
 {
   Serial.begin(9600);
   attachInterrupt(0, rpm_fun, RISING);
   //my code
   pinMode(9,OUTPUT);
   pinMode(A0,INPUT);
   //end
   //Timer1.initialize(500000);
   rpmcount = 0;
   rpm = 0;
   timeold = 0;
 }
 void loop()
 {
  //Timer1.pwm(9,512,500000);
   if (rpmcount >= 20) {
     //Update RPM every 20 counts, increase this for better RPM resolution,
     //decrease for faster update
     rpm = 30*1000/(millis() - timeold)*rpmcount;
     timeold = millis();
     rpmcount = 0;
     Serial.println(rpm,DEC);
   }
     analogWrite(9,128);
 }

Did something like this happen to someone else?

What i want to do is use the potentiometer to set the speed of the pc fan, used it as the setPoint to feed it to a PID, get the rpm of fan(code copied from rpm post), feed the rpm to the pid, and calculate the output.

I don't see anything to do with PID in this code.

When calculating RPM, you should disable interrupts. Re-enable them when done. This will prevent an RPM interrup fro occurring while you are calculating the speed.

pinMode(A0,INPUT);