Create keyboard

Hi,

First of all, thanks for reading this thread. I just started playing around with a arduino. I’ve created a traffic light and used a speaker ect. But now I want to create something serious, so I tought let’s create my own keyboard!

I want to have 25 soft buttons, but not use 25 wires because that would be to sloppy. So I want to use foil to make kind of a grid structure like in the image. (sorry for the typo in the image)

But now i’ve created this, but how do I know what button is pressed?

I set all the ground pins as “OUTPUT” and “LOW” and the other pins on “INPUT” and “HIGH”. I need to know what ground pin is used in order to know what button is pressed. But the ground pin is always on “LOW”.

So my main question is: How do I know what ground wire is used?

My current code:

const int ledPin = 5; // Set led + at pin 5
const int ledGND = 7; // Set led - at pin 7

// Set pin 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 as - pin
const int buttonsGND[] = {
};

// Set pin 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 as + pin
const int buttonsPin[] = {
};

// Variable to remember button press
int buttonPressed = 0;
int buttonState = 0;

void setup() {

// Set the led + and - as output 
  pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(ledGND, OUTPUT);

// Foreach button
  for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
  {

// Set the - pin as output
   pinMode(buttonsGND[i], OUTPUT);
   // Set the - pin off
   digitalWrite(buttonsGND[i], LOW);

}

for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
  {
   // Set the + pin as input
   pinMode(buttonsPin[i], INPUT);

// Set the + pin on
   digitalWrite(buttonsPin[i], HIGH);
  }

Serial.begin(9600); 
}

void loop() {

//  for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
//  {
//      if(digitalRead(buttonsGND[i]) == HIGH)
 //     {
 //          digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); 
 //     }
 //     else
 //     {
//           digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
//      }
//  }

Serial.print("Ground pin value: ");
  Serial.println(digitalRead(buttonsGND[1]));
  Serial.print("Plus pin value: ");
  Serial.println(digitalRead(buttonsPin[0));

delay(100);
}