Create variables during runtime

Hallo! Newbie here…

I’m building a remote temperature sensor (like hundreds of people starting with Arduino) combining 3 Dallas temp senstors and the ThingSpeak library.

To print the temperature values of the 3 sensors, the example sketch creates a loop to to go through every sensor on the bus. After a temperature is measured, it’s stored as “tempC” and overwritten on the next loop. No problem as it’s already printed anyway.

Now I want to upload these values to TingSpeak. In order to do that I would need all 3 values still alible after the loop as t0, t1, t2 but I’ve found that it can’t be done as per below because “variables are defend by the compiler so can’t be created dynamically during the runtime”?

My 2 questions are:

1. Is that indeed the case or do I miss a simple ; or {} or so?
  2. If indeed true, how can I makes all 3 values available for writing to ThingSpeak after the loop has run n-times?
sensors.requestTemperatures(); // Send the command to get temperatures

// Loop through each device, print out temperature data
  for (int i = 0; i < numberOfDevices; i++) {
    // Search the wire for address
    if (sensors.getAddress(tempDeviceAddress, i)) {
      // Output the device ID
      Serial.print("Temperature for device: ");
      Serial.print(i, DEC);
      // Print the data
      float tempC = sensors.getTempC(tempDeviceAddress);
      float t(i, DEC) = sensors.getTempC(tempDeviceAddress);   // <= This is giving me headache!!
      Serial.print(" = ");
      Serial.print(tempC);
      Serial.println(" °C");
    }
  }
  Serial.println();
    // set the fields with the values
    ThingSpeak.setField(1, t0);
    ThingSpeak.setField(2, t1);
    ThingSpeak.setField(3, t2);

I’m coming from this tutorial btw, combining it with the example sketches provided by ThingSpeak.

You are getting confused.

You define (all) the necessary variables at the start of your code.