Creating 30+ Arduino gloves that communicate interchangeably

Hey guys, I'm a second year university student and we're doing a group project at the moment where we have to come up with a concept for something useful involving arduinos.

Our idea is gloves that people can wear, and when they shake hands (with their gloves on), they transfer information. (Eg just an ID number)

I've tried googling this but we're all new to all of this so I'm lost already. I guess we want an arduino and a wifi shield where we can connect to a website (or a server that connects to a website?) for each glove, where the information will be changed into something relevant. (I hope that makes sense!)

The problem we're having is we need a list of hardware we'd use, and the basic set up. We got so carried away with the idea that we didn't realise we'd made the project much harder than any of us are capable of :stuck_out_tongue: we don't need to build anything, just a concept that would work in theory.

I've had a look at making the arduinos communicate via bluetooth but it looks like you need some kind of master/slave set up for that? Or using xbee? (I'm not sure what that is but it looked promising)

Sorry for being a desperate noob but I have idea what I'm doing and its due pretty soon, haha!

Absolutely any help, no matter how small, would be greatly appreciated.

All the best!
Leah

My suggestion would be:

1. a switch in the thumb part of the glove, on the ball of the thumb, so that when the two shake hands the switches close to signal a transfer of data is in progress.
  2. An infra red LED in the tip of the middle finger to transmit the data.
  3. An infra red receiver (diode or transistor) on the sleeve of the glove (near to where the middle finger of the opposing hand will be, you'll have to experiment to find the correct location that will work for all hand sizes) to receive the data.
  4. An indicator led or piezo sounder to signal data transfer has been successful.