Creating a 5 dot matrix large scale printer

I’d like some advice on how to create a 5 dot matrix printer.

I have 5 lasers that can be turned on and off to write dashes on a sheet of material as it emerges from a process.

I have calculated that each dash will take approx 1 second with a 1 second gap. so using 5x5 matrix for each character will take ~10 secs.

I would like to write “words” up to 30 characters and be able to change what is written easily. I have a 5x5 matrix for each letter of the alphabet plus numbers and a few symbols, so 40 in all.

I can easily interface the 5 digital outputs from the Arduino into the on/off for each of the lasers.
I am looking for the best way to create the <30 digit “word” and then get the arduino to turn the outputs on and off as each column of a segment is sequenced.

I am new to Arduino so would appreciate any guidance, including where to look for a solution.

Many thanks

David

Serial out to a shift-reg, burn, serial out to shift-reg, burn, ....

123Splat

Thank you for replying. Could you explain your solution in a bit more detail as I don't understand your suggestion.

I do wish to use the Arduino standalone, so would program it with the required text and then run it standalone.

I am thinking to create a new sketch for each text that I wish to print.

Thanks
David

5 by 5 character matrix (not much resolution, but OK) = 5 bit positions (y axis) x 5 time positions (x axis)
with 5 time positions for space (one after each dot) between characters, correct? Example:
T0 T1 T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T7 T8 T9
Y4 OFF ON OFF ON OFF ON OFF ON OFF ON = X.X.X.X.X. ==> XXXXX
Y3 OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF = . . . . . . . . . . ==> .....
Y2 OFF ON OFF ON OFF OFF OFF ON OFF ON = . x . x . . . x . x ==> XX.XX
Y1 and so on and so on
Y0