Creating a "Alarmlist"

Hey friends. Since i am still learning i wanted to discuss with you the way to create a proper "alarmlist"

To be more specific. I am using a Nextion and an ESP32. Lets say i measure some stuff and when something happens an errormassages should be written und displayed on a site of my Nextion.

Since my code isnt finished, my question is more of software-engineering nature.

My idea and code so far:

Lets say i have 3 events that gives me 3 different errormessages : Event 1: "Errormassage 1" Event 2: "Errormassage 2" Event 3: "Errormassage 3"

Idea 1: I store the massages that accur in a char-array: char *errorMsgs[4][100]; f.e:

void datalogOnOffPopCallback(void *ptr)
{
  uint32_t t_datalogState;
  datalogOnOff.getValueDS("Datenlogging",&t_datalogState);
  if(t_datalogState==1)
  {
    errorMsgs[2][100] = {"Errormassage 2"};
  }
  else{errorMsgs[2][100] = '\0';}
}

So when the button is pushed down, the errormassage 2 will be stored into the array . When its not it should be emtpy.

My first question now: Is this the best way to store strings? I mean, i am pretty sure there are more elegant ways to do so, but my question is more, if i am doing something significant wrong with this idea?

To make the first post not to big i will stop here and continue afterwards it is clear if my idea is ok

Why not simply put the error messages in an array and use the error number as an index to the appropriate one

const char * errorMessages[] = {"Message 1", "Message 2", "Message 3"};

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  for (int errorNumber = 0; errorNumber < 3; errorNumber++)
  {
    printErrorMessage(errorNumber);
  }
}

void loop()
{
}

void printErrorMessage(int number)
{
  Serial.println(errorMessages[number]);
}

If you are short of memory then you can put the error strings in PROGMEM

hello