Creating a Library - Few Questions

Hello

I have written some code for myself for producing large fonts on a specific 24x8 LCD I have, which require specific commands to store the info on the LCD's RAM, and display stuff.

The long and short of it is, I ideally would like to store all of this code in a header file or something, rather than having it visually taking up room in the main program.

I am still learning the ways of the Arduino and the IDE, and I am just not sure if I am able to simply create a .h file, and paste in the functions I dont want in my main code, and then include the .h file.

I had a quick look at the Morse Tutorial, and it seems there are .h files and .cpp files for the libraries. On inspection of thes files, the syntax is different from the normal program code - of which I am not yet familar with writing.

My question is, can I simply paste in the functions I dont want to have in my main code, into a .h file, include it and all will be OK - or do I have to do some work and produce .h and .cpp files in a specific format?

I am just a little unsure of what I need to do.

Thanks

You can do it that way.

However, you should try and take advantage of the object orientated programming that the Arduino offers.

If parts of your code can be described as an object (eg menu handling), you can make an object called menu_handle.

It is really worth wild pursuing this further!

Ok cool thanks - that sounds like a plan.

I will investigate this over the next few days and try and piece something together :)

Good to know you can simply dump functions into a .h file still though, but as you say, worth investigating how to do it right too.

Thanks

The way to do it is to put all your function definitions in the .h file

void function1(void);
int funtion2(void);

… ect

and put the function in a .c file
function1() {

/* Do something */

}

I think the C code files have to use a .cpp extension for libraries. Pretty sure that's where I went wrong initially.